10/08- Washington, DC @ Black Cat (www.blackcatdc.com)
 
10/09- Philadelphia, PA @ MBN Studios (www.mbnstudios.com, 721 N.4th St.)
 
10/10- Purchase, NY @ SUNY Purchase (www.purchase.edu)
 
10/11- Milford, CT @ Local Takeover @ Daniel St. Club (www.myspace.com/localtakeover)
 
10/12- Cambridge, MA @ The Middle East (www.mideastclub.com)
 
10/13- Brooklyn, NY @ Europa (www.europaclub.com)
 
10/14- Baltimore, MD @ Orion Sound (www.orionsound.com)
 
10/15- East Stroudsburg, PA @ Beers Lecture at East Stroudsburg University (www.myspace.com/thebillymackhouse)
 
10/16- Pittsburgh, PA @ Garfield Artworks (www.garfieldartworks.com)
 
10/17- Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern (www.beachlandballroom.com)
 
10/18- Indianapolis, IN @ Radio Radio (www.mythopeic.org)
 
10/19- Chicago, IL @ Martyrs (www.martyrslive.com)
 
10/20- Stevens Point, WI @ University of Wisconsin (www.uwsp.edu/centers/centertainment/main.asp )
 
10/21- Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon (www.high-noon.com)
 
10/22- Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry (www.first-avenue.com)
 
10/23- Cedar Rapids, IA @ Legion Arts (www.legionarts.org)
 
10/24- Lawrence, KS @ Replay Lounge (www.replaylounge.com)
 
10/25- Omaha, NE @ Sokol Underground (www.onepercentproductions.com)
 
10/26- Denver, CO @ 3 Kings Tavern (www.myspace.com/3kingstavern )
 
10/27- Glenwood Springs, CO @ Eagles Lodge (www.myspace.com/cryptichour)
 
10/28- Salt Lake City, UT @ Monk's House of Jazz (www.myspace.com/monkshouseofjazz)
 
10/29- Missoula, MT @ The Badlander (www.myspace.com/thebadlander )
 
10/30- Seattle, WA @ The Funhouse (www.thefunhouseseattle.com)
 
10/31- Portland, OR @ Rotture (www.rotture.com)
 
11/01- Eugene, OR @ WOW Hall (www.wowhall.org)
 
11/02- Arcata, CA @ Jambalaya (www.myspace.com/jambalaya915)
 
11/03- San Francisco, CA @ Hemlock Tavern (www.hemlocktavern.com)
 
11/04- Los Angeles, CA @ Safari Sam's (www.safari-sams.com)


After a long hiatus from the US, avant-rockers Uz Jsme Doma embark October 7 on a month long tour (with Philadelphia band Capillary Action) in support of their most recent album, Rybi Tuk/Cod Liver Oil, set for release by Škoda in North America on October 23. (Please see tour dates below.) UJD's explosive, engaging concerts feature frenetic tempos and time changes, soaring operatic vocals and gutteral chanting, rock anthems and folk dances, seeming anarchy that is orchestrated down to the last skronk.
 
Since forming in the small Czechoslovakian border town of Teplice in 1985, UJD has weathered the tyranny of Communism, numerous line-up changes, and relentless touring, including performances in war-torn Bosnia. The band's music, through a juxtaposition of the beautiful and ugly, familiar and strange, aims to provoke the listener to feel something genuine and new; in the famous words of one of the band's inspirations, Franz Kafka, to be "an axe for the frozen sea inside us." Celebrating the absurd, the sad, the beautiful and the unbearable, often all in one song, Uz Jsme Doma taps into life's underground reserves and lets it shoot skywards.
 
Following their last North American tour in 2001, sax player and founding member Jindra Dolansky and bassist Honza Cejka retired from the group. The band regrouped as a quartet and recorded its latest, most complex work, Rybi Tuk/Cod Liver Oil, in September 2003 at Sono Studios in Prague. Mixed by Dan Rathbun of Sleepytime Gorilla Museum (and featuring contributions from SGM members Nils Frykdahl and Carla Kihlstedt), Cod Liver Oil includes elaborate arrangements featuring violin, horns, and a full choir. UJD's current lineup is Mirek Wanek (vocals, guitar, keyboards, lyrics), Pepa Cervinka (bass, vocal), Adam Tomasek (trumpet, vocal), Tomas Paleta (drums, clapping, tears), and artist Martin Velisek (brushes). Projects on the horizon for the band include the music to the animated Czech Television series Krysaci/Rats, to be broadcast in December 2007.